Skip to content

The Dress

May 19, 2010

We all do it. We don’t want to wear our mother’s wedding dress, but for some strange reason we save ours thinking that just maybe our daughters will want to wear ours.

My daughter got married this past year and of course, we got her her own dress. Which was fine because the day she passed me in height, I kind of figured my dress wasn’t going to work for her.

I was honored that she did wear my veil to the rehearsal.

She wanted to wear that for the wedding but it just didn’t go with her dress. So since the long-saved dress wasn’t going to be a part of the wedding, we did have this picture taken of them together.

So now comes the decision of what to do with the dress.  Do I throw it out? It’s too beautiful to do that.

Then I heard what I thought was a great idea. You give it to a seamstress to have a christening gown made for your grandbabies. What could be more perfect? Visions of this danced in my head, along with the vision of all the grandbabies that would wear it. This dress would be passed down generation to generation. Years later the story would be told how a loving grandmother had this made for her perfect first grandchild.

The reality slipped into the vision. A friend of mine had a christening gown made for her granddaughter, not out of her wedding dress thankfully, and the kids don’t want it. They think it’s too prissy.

Guess the reality is I better come up with another idea to do with this dress.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 5:47 pm

    Testing!! 🙂

  2. conni permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:32 pm

    I saw a company that turned the dress (without ruining it as a wedding dress) in a bassinet skirt.

  3. May 19, 2010 11:41 pm

    I have been told that they don’t use bassinets anymore. They all buy those porta cribs that are real fancy.

  4. conni permalink
    May 20, 2010 12:59 am

    we used one for 8 weeks, and beside they are so pretty !

  5. May 20, 2010 11:49 am

    What a terrific idea having your wedding dress made into Christening dresses (but if you’re not Catholic, it could be the “baby dedication” dress, I guess). I wore my sister’s wedding dress and veil….don’t think she’d be too happy if I ask her for it one day to “re-do”. But I will suggest that idea to her for her future grandbabies~

Leave a Reply

