Skip to content

A Grandma’s Flowers

May 20, 2010

All of us have a preconceived idea of what a grandmother is supposed to be like. I think of my mother teaching the kids how to wash dishes by hand and how to sew a button on. Another thing I think about when I think of grandmothers are flowers. Both of my grandmothers loved flowers and always had beautiful gardens on which us kids would run around in. This is such a Norman Rockwell picture in my head. The problem is…I don’t have a green thumb.

My Grandma with her flowers:

My flowers:

See my problem?

It’s not that I don’t try. I buy more flowers in a year than Disney World. I might be exaggerating a bit, but I do buy a lot. From the moment I put the flowers in the car, the flowers know that their days are numbered. I feel like the grim reaper of flowers. Janet says she can always tell when I’m going to have company because the dead flowers go away and new flowers are put in their place.

So I am thinking about moving next to a park that has a rose garden and maybe they just won’t remember that it wasn’t their grandmother’s garden. By the way, Janet might want to move on the other side of the garden because her flowers don’t look so good either.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 10:07 pm

    Oh the first picture reminded me of my grandmother, Yes it’s better to move next to a park.

Leave a Reply

