Skip to content

A Slide in the House?

June 4, 2010

I designed my house 25 years ago and have raised four children in it. I am now thinking it is time to move on to where I will play with my grandchildren. When I think of a grandmother’s house I think of childhood fun. A place to have puppet shows, and secret passageways. I want to have a cousin room where cousins can stay and giggle together long into the night.

I saw this slide and it made me smile.

Maybe I love this slide because I remember sliding down the stairs as a child and my mom yelling at me. To me a grandma’s house should be magical. There should be a place for comfy cozy time, where grandparent and grandchild can read a book or just dream together.

I don’t see a grandma’s house trying to keep up with the latest and greatest. It should be a place where the imagination is allowed to grow and playtime is ageless. A tire swing in the yard and some leftover wood in the back of the garage. Lots of step stools so little ones can help bigger ones. Somewhere where children’s art can be proudly displayed.

Grandparents are grandchildren’s link to history. It is important for us to teach them that childhood doesn’t ever have to be boring as long as they use their imagination.

If you have something that your grandchildren love about your house, we’d love to hear about it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 2:48 pm

    My grandmother had a stroke when I was just a baby, so she had a chairlift in her house to carry her up and down the stairs. We kids begged to ride the lift every time we came over! Usually we were allowed one ride after dinner. Kind of a funny thing to love about your grandparents’ house, I see now. 😉
    Also I loved the old books they had, just knowing that they were the ones they read to my mom when she was little was really cool to me.

    • June 8, 2010 3:08 pm

      Your reply reminded me of what I loved about my grandma’s house…she had swival chairs that I loved to spin around in them. She didn’t love us doing it though

Leave a Reply

