Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 8, 2010

My father has passed away and so has my father-in-law. My children are all old enough to get their father something on their own.

So the question is…do I still need to buy Father’s Day gifts? I think I should be able to get by with just letting my husband do something he wants to do on that day…he doesn’t get that often, so it would feel special.

But then the other day I heard a son telling his mom what he wanted for Father’s Day. She quickly reminded him that he was not her father. He then said, “But I’m the father of your grandchildren.”

So the question is….is she supposed to get him something? My mother never got me a Mother’s Day gift. I never even gave it a thought. Now during my birth-giving days, I did think my husband owed me a nice gift. My first Mother’s Day he bought me a dustbuster…that was not one of his better ideas.

I would have probably loved a letter written by my parents telling me what a good parent they thought I was….who doesn’t want praise from their parents?

Tell me your opinion of this coming holiday and just what you will be doing for it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Burgett permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:48 pm

    Since my son is a single father and often the mother of his son does not recognize him on father’s day, I intend to at least send a card saying he is a great dad. A little encouragement to continue on being a great influence on my grandson can’t hurt. His first father’s day I did buy him a small gift–a figurine of a son and dad. One could choose to get him a parenting book, but that probably isn’t on his list of desired gifts.

  2. a-grandchilds-father permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:20 pm

    I would have to say this depends on your involvment with the child. Are you a grandmother who sees your grandchild once or twice a month or a grandmother who has such a signifacant role in your grandchild life that if the grandchild did not go with you to get a gift for mothers/fathers day they might not get the idea of a special day for there mother and father. Then there is also the point of you as a grandmother being so very proud of the child that you reared to become this awsome father that you feel a need to show him your overwhelming joy for what he has become. But that is just a thought of a young and upcomming father.

Leave a Reply

