Skip to content

Playground Safety

June 8, 2010

I saw a story on the news the other day about a woman who took her child to the park and put her on the slide. The little girl screamed the whole way down and got to the bottom with burns all over her. The mother went back later and tested the temperature of the slide….168 degrees, and that was a plastic slide.

Dangers are all around and we have to remember to be careful. I often wonder if because the government is so good about regulating safety now a days that maybe we forget to be ever watchful ourselves.

I was told once that the reason that fairy tales like Jack and Jill were not happy ones was because it was a way for mothers to teach their children to be careful. Maybe in this day and age of happy endings we may be making some very unhappy endings for our children. More than 200,000 children a year are treated each year for playground injuries. Does that mean never take a child to the playground? No, but it is like everything else in life, we need to teach them how to look after themselves.

If that mother had just taken a minute to touch the slide first she would have realized that it was to hot. It reminds me of a time when we were in a restaurant many years ago fighting with our toddler to drink her milk. My husband finally took a sip and soon found out while she didn’t want it. It had spoiled to the point of almost being cheese. After that day we always made a point of taking a sip before they did.

My husband has a saying, “I’m not smarter…I’m just older.” Life has a way of teaching us things; lets not forget what we have learned.

playground cartoons, playground cartoon, playground picture, playground pictures, playground image, playground images, playground illustration, playground illustrations

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 1:00 am

    I couldn’t agree more that everyone needs to be more careful on the playground. I have seen 3 tire swing mishaps in the past month, usually involving heads clunking together or kids falling off the swing. Something else I’m noticing recently is very young kids simply not being watched at the park. There’s a particular playground in our neighborhood on a large plot of land with a sandbox that’s far away from the main play structures. I keep finding myself watching my kids (and everyone else’s) at this sandbox while parents or caregivers are nowhere in site. The park is in what’s considered to be an extremely “safe” neighborhood, but nevertheless, a 4 year old child should not be left alone. I don’t mind putting my nanny skills to work, sharing toys and policing the sandbox, but I fear for the safety of these children.

Leave a Reply

