Skip to content

The Coin Purse

June 10, 2010

I was going through some of my mother’s things the other day and came across her coin purse. Mom carried this little purse forever and yet I had never really paid any attention to it.

As I opened it and began to take the contents out, a tear began to form.

A half a stick of gum.

A tape measure

A thimble

and a Salvation Army receipt.

Just four simple things and yet it these things told so much about who my mother was.

Gum: “No lady ever puts a whole stick of gum in her mouth”, I can hear her telling me. She was a lady.

Thimble: Mom always carried one. She had a servant’s heart and so she always needed to be ready just in case someone needed her to sew something on for them.

Tape Measure: Mom was a giver so she always kept track of everyone’s sizes. If she found something she liked, she would simply pull our her measuring tape to see who it would fit. I can’t tell you how many preachers have worn suits Mom found “junking”.

Salvation Army receipt:  Mom would go just about everyday to the Salvation Army. Not just to shop, but to minister. I can’t tell you how many people mom would pray with in the aisles of the Salvation Army thrift store.

So one little coin purse and yet it says so much. What will I leave behind that will talk to my kids and just what will it say?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:42 am

    This is so very, very sweet. I really wish I could be as consistent in what I say and what I have. I hope that when I am gone people can see the consistency and steadfastness of my life in what I leave behind.

Leave a Reply

