Skip to content

Where’s Grandma?

June 15, 2010

When our children are young, grandparents are very important to us. We need them to babysit and help us when we ask. As the kids get older, we don’t need them as much so often they get forgotten in the busyness of life.

Weddings can be one of these times. I know a grandmother that didn’t even have one picture of her taken at her granddaughters wedding. I vowed I wasn’t going to let that happen at my daughter’s wedding.

One thing I had her do was take her grandmother to one of the dress fittings. I think it was a special time for both of them.

Another thing we did was have a dessert table at the wedding and asked many special people in my daughter’s life to make something for the reception. Her grandma made my daughter’s favorite snickerdoodle cookies. If you are not having a dessert table then this would be a nice idea to do at a shower.

Tell me some of your ideas for including grandma at a wedding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:05 pm

    My grandma doesn’t like to be the center of attention. So the way I honored her at my wedding was by the music that played while she was being seated. I had my violinists write an arrangement of the piece that all of my aunts and mother walked down the aisle to at their weddings. My grandma cried when she heard it at the rehearsal, because it brought back so many memories of her daughters’ weddings and it now was a special part of her granddaughter’s wedding (I was the first granddaughter to get married). It showed her how much I appreciated the family and tradition and memories and she loved it.

    • June 15, 2010 3:20 pm

      That is sooooo sweet. Thank you for sharing that, what a special grand daughter you are.

Leave a Reply

