Skip to content

The Grandchildren’s Room

June 22, 2010

The grandchildren having their own room at Grandma and Grandpa’s house seems to be a popular thing with baby boomers.

Janet has one in her house that has both a crib and a twin size bed in it. She has decorated this room so any child would love to sleep here. She wallpapered two of the walls and then on the top of the other two walls she stenciled a Disney quote, “A dream is a wish the heart makes…when you are fast asleep.” Then to top it off she has glow in the dark stars on the ceiling.  I would love to have a special child’s room like this in my house someday.

I am sure my husband will not understand this. He is always so much more pratical than me. I might go with a sailing theme…that could be both boy or girl and since “grandpa” loves sailing it might help persuade him a bit. Of course I would love to have two grandchildren rooms…a boys and a girls…with maybe two sets of bunkbeds in each….hmmmm maybe what I really want is a lot of grandkids that want to come to my house.

When my kids were little, they would spend many nights at their grandparents house. There was no special room for them and yet they loved going there. They would  crawl into bed next to their grandma and watch the ball games together way into the night. These are memories that they all hold very dear.

Hmmmm on second thought maybe I don’t want to give them their own room. Maybe I’ll just give them each their own sleeping bag and let them sleep in our room on the floor as we watch games together. This way they can have popcorn and not get grandpa mad, because we will want him to make everyone breakfast in the morning.

Do you have a grandchild room? If you do, please send us a picture!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

