Skip to content

Love.

June 24, 2010

I’ll never forget the first time I saw him. I was in the science lab and there he was…he was holding the door open for his girlfriend. Right then and there I was smitten by this guy.  You may not understand what the big deal was but you have to understand…I was in 7th grade. Guys that I knew were more into slamming the door in my face than holding it open for me.

Who was he? I needed to know. Before long ,I not only knew who he was but I also knew his schedule. He and his girlfriend had broken up and he had no idea that his future was being planned for him by me. Soon I was running all over the school so he would see me every time he walked out of a class. He didn’t know who I was but he was at least starting to notice me. 

It took me about a year but before he knew what hit him, this guy was mine.

Now almost 40 years later this guy is still mine and my head still turns as he walks into the room just as it did when I was 12. I have never worked so hard for anything in my life but the reward has been well worth it.

I tell my kids that you can do anything you want to do…you just gotta want to.

Sure wish I could muster up some more “want to’s” in my life like…weight loss…cooking…cleaning… but lucky for me I got the best “want to” I could have ever imagined.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 11:07 am

    That is really sweet! I love the pictures too!

  2. Sue Burgett permalink
    June 24, 2010 11:24 am

    He’s quite a catch and a great friend. Love the picture Shannon took. Artistic Avenue is a must for all your photograph needs. She does great work with kids and would take great grandkid and inter-generational pictures, too.

  3. June 24, 2010 11:42 am

    This post is so sweet. The smile on your face in that high school picture is so cute-beaming. keep writing!
    Tammy

  4. June 24, 2010 1:37 pm

    What a sweet story! I hope to be able to tell something like it decades from now when my husband and I have our own family to share it with.

  5. June 24, 2010 2:42 pm

    That is too cute! I just married my high school sweetheart a couple weeks ago and I can’t wait to share a story like that with my kids!

  6. June 24, 2010 2:46 pm

    This is so very nice. Puts it all into perspective. My brand new (6 months!) husband and I have a lot of “want tos” right now … but we try to keep remembering that we are the biggest ‘want to’ of them all!

    • June 24, 2010 7:15 pm

      Colleen….I love that…as long as you think that way you will have a very happy marriage

Leave a Reply

