Skip to content

The Strong-Willed Child

June 28, 2010

Do you have one of those kids that just knows how to push your buttons and seems to enjoy doing so?  One of those kids that make you become a hermit because you are afraid to go out with because people might think you are a terrible parent?

I had one of those kids. If I told this child the sky was blue, she would argue with me. If I told her to stand somewhere, that is the last place she would stand. There were days I thought I just couldn’t do this anymore and then she would go to sleep and what an angel she was laying there so peacefully…

This was my most strong-willed child. I had been a strong-willed child and when my mom would get mad at me, she would say, “I hope you have a daughter just like you!” This is that child. Daily our heads would butt and I would say “Why are you sooo strong-willed!?!”

One night as I was tucking her into bed when she was around eight, I suddenly saw her in a whole new light. I remember telling her that night that God had made her strong-willed for a reason and that He had great plans for her. It was just important not to be strong-willed against God or her parents. She looked at me with her big brown eyes and I swear I saw a light bulb go off over her head.

From that moment on, neither one of us saw her personality as a negative – but as an opportunity. That daughter is now a lawyer and God indeed had and still has big plans for her.

What are you trying to change from a negative to a positive in your mind?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mollie permalink
    June 28, 2010 12:22 pm

    Hmm…..I’m going to try that! Thanks! 🙂 People tell me all the time that he is going to make a great defense attorney. I say that he is going to go far in life, but right now he is just driving Mommy crazy! 🙂

  2. June 28, 2010 6:22 pm

    Ahhho-yes! I have one of these children!!! He is 16 next in August! He has been ornery since day 1 ! I have always said ” God made him this way for a reason! Surely he will have to be a BOSS one day because he does not like authority. !! So exciting to see Gods handy work in our kids! I am excited to see Gods plan unfold in Jerid!

Leave a Reply

