Skip to content

Happy Memories

July 6, 2010

When we first got married we were very poor. Not that we are rich now, but money was very tight back then. I was thinking back to some of the things we used to do to save money and wondered just how much money we would have now if we had never changed our ways.

We live in Florida,but running an air conditioner all the time can be expensive. We use to go to the mall down the street and go in the door that had no stores around it, so we wouldn’t be tempted and sit and enjoy the air conditioning for free.

On cold nights, instead of heating the whole apartment, we would turn on the electric blanket to warm up and then turn it off. When we got so cold that we would wake up, we would turn it back on just long enough to warm back up.

Kool-aid was the cheapest thing other than water to drink and we would only make that half strength. There was no need to buy a big tv…we couldn’t afford cable so time was spent playing games and things that didn’t cost anything. I wasn’t tempted to buy things because I couldn’t afford magazines to tell me what I was missing out on. When I wanted decorating ideas, I would go to the wallpaper store and look thru the wallpaper books. Each one was filled with pictures of beautiful rooms and it didn’t cost me a thing.

It helped because all of our friends didn’t have two nickels to rub together either. Things were passed around, not thrown out.

Once for a romantic dinner I packed up a picnic basket and took my husband to the beach. We found a table where I took out a cloth tablecloth and napkins…candles …and a radio …I have to say this is one of my favorite romantic dinner memories and yet it cost no more than if we had eaten at home.

All this slowly changed as the paycheck went up and the children started to come. We wanted to give our kids everything and so we did…now I wonder as they struggle to keep up if we would have given them more by not giving them so much.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

