Skip to content

I Quit

July 19, 2010

I was thinking back on the day I quit being a mom.

It was my 31st birthday and it hit me like a ton of bricks. Everyone tells you to prepare for your 30th. You expect it to hit you hard. It didn’t hit me that way at all.  I was excited about my thirties. I had given my body and my life for my children in my twenties. I had had three beautiful girls during that time and being a stay at home mom every thing about my life was about them.

My body had went from a comfortable size six to a tight size ten. My bras went from sexy to industral. It’s ok, I told myself. The thirties were going to be mine. I wasn’t planning on having more children and the kids were now….nine…seven and three…I have to admit I was looking forward to this new time in my life.

Then thirty-one came…that day I realized that nothing had changed…I was never going to be just me…I would always be a mom with demands made on her night and day.

It took an “I Quit” , a march out the door and a few hours of ‘me’ time for me to realize that I had the best job in the world and even though it would be nice to have vacation time once in a while…and a little praise wouldn’t hurt either…there was nothing I would rather be doing with my life than spend it with them.

Lucky for me the job was still open when I got home because now, twenty years later, I would have been very sad if I had really quit.

One Comment leave one →
  1. joanne Dickerson permalink
    July 27, 2010 3:48 pm

    I love the pictures of Beams of Grace and Grandma and Grandpa. YOU NEED to make a book of all these uniquel family entries for me and Roger. Ok, I know that I also need to start recording my own.

Leave a Reply

