Skip to content

Trash to Treasures – Part 1

July 27, 2010

I have been looking around my house and seeing nothing but “stuff”. Don’t get me wrong. I love my house and my stuff, but at some point it just gets out of control. When you get my age you end up with your old stuff that you are afraid to get rid of for fear someone might want or need it. Your also have your new stuff that you want and your parents stuff that has been passed to you and your parents stuff because they have either downsized or passed away.

I know one woman whose stuff got so to be so much she could do nothing put barely walk through her home. Another woman had her husband build her a room that she decorated just like mom and dad’s living room. She would go in there when she wanted to think about them or just feel comforted. Now I know a lot of you are saying….creepy…but that’s probably because you haven’t lost your parents yet. I think there is something in all of us that wants to go back home when life seemed simple.

Well, back to my stuff. My kids now have their own stuff so they don’t want mine and Mr Amazing isn’t going to build that room for mom and dad’s stuff . So what do I do?

I have decided to look into places where I can give my stuff away to someone who needs it more than I do. I will be sharing with you what I find and maybe together we can turn our junk into a gift.

The first one I found is a site that tells you what to do with your old cell phone: http://hubpages.com/hub/Recycle-For-Cash-Or-Give-It-To-Charity

I love the idea that maybe my unwanted cell phone could help a battered woman be safe. Check it out and let me know what you have decided to do with your old cell phone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. conni permalink
    July 27, 2010 12:01 pm

    well when you find a good place for all that stuff let me know. we will be getting a lot of stuff from the in-law. C

Leave a Reply

