Skip to content

No Bread Allowed!

August 5, 2010

I am trying to go all day without eating bread ….I love bread but I know it does not love me.

I have put on thirty pounds this year due to being under a lot of stress and it’s time to say good bye to it.

Not the stress…even though I wish I could …

Stress seems to be something I am going to just have to learn to live with during this time of my life but I don’t have to live with the weight ….which adds a whole bunch of new stress.

So today I have decided to stay away from bread. Now that may not be hard for some of you but even as I write this, my stomach is crying for some nice soft white bread…

There I said it..not only do I love bread, but I love white bread…I can just imagine what the faces of all you health freaks out there look like right now. But isn’t part of the cure admitting the sickness?

I went off  bread a couple of years ago and the pounds just flew off…I felt so good that I swore I would never eat bread again. Then it happened….just a little here and a little there and now I am back where I started plus a little bit more.

So for today instead of this  

I am trying to imagine this…..

Anyone have any better ideas?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    August 6, 2010 12:00 am

    I know this is going to sound silly and obvious but my trick is that I simply don’t buy it. A year ago a long stressful day at work and all I could think about was coming home to a nice crispy loaf of Italian bread and a bottle of wine. My husband and I decided to just find healthier recipes and watch our weaknesses at the grocery store. Bread wasn’t really our focus but it somehow just sorta fell off our radar and I think I just lost the ‘craving.’ From once a week to probably once every few months. I’m trying to take the same approach with snack food. It’s harder but when I find myself in the kitchen at 8pm with my sweet tooth yelling at me and I find nothing, I pout for a minute and then storm off with my only option, a yogurt. Eventually I get over it and feel better that it was my only option. The pounds didn’t fall off for us but we’re starting the Couch to 5K program and we’re starting to feel healthier and more in shape.

Leave a Reply

