Skip to content

Getting ready…

August 29, 2010

I am not a techie…and I have no desire to be one.

I guess what it really comes down to is…I am not a learner.

If I am going to learn something then I want it to help me out for years to come. I learned how to read and it still works for me. I learned how to sew and I can still do that. The problem I have with techie stuff is by the time I learn it my knowledge is out dated.

Techie people are even taking all those things I painstakingly learned in elementary school and changing that. It is no longer…Are you going to school? Now is looks something like this….R U goin 2 skool….

I have been  bad at spelling my whole life, so at first I thought this was cool. Then I found out that you still have to misspell words the right way…I am sure my daughter will tell me that I miss spelled skool in my explanation.

The point of all this is…I bought a new phone.

I have had my cell phone forever. When it rings I know it is mine. They don’t even have ring tones like mine anymore. I know how to make a call…answer a call..take a picture…send such picture (so someone can show it to me again..because I don’t know how to find old pictures)..I can’t add phone numbers or delete phone numbers…I can’t do a lot of things on this phone. So even though it kept coming time to up grade it I never found a reason. Until today…

I went to lunch with a friend and she had a smart phone…..which of course made me giggle. Does that mean I have a dumb phone? Visions of kindergarten reading group came rushing to my mind. Guess which reading group I was never in?

Anyway…she went to show me pictures of her grand baby and I was sold..I want one of those I thought to myself. And this time I wasn’t speaking of the grand baby.

My kids send me pictures on the phone and I call them and say ….oh how cute…the reality is ..I can’t see a thing…my screen is so small that even with the best of reading glasses I can hardly make out what I am looking at.

I don’t want to pretend anymore. Some day when I have a grandchild I want to be able to see those pictures. So I bought a smart phone….the way I see it…my kids have a good two years before I will be able to figure out how to use it so there is no pressure for them to give me  grand babies  just yet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 11:42 am

    🙂 You will learn how to use your smartphone pretty quickly, believe it or not. I am not really “techy smart” and I love mine. It’s nice to be able to communicate at a the touch of a button, it’s less invasive, quick and simple. I can send tons of pictures of my kids to my parents phone, facebook, etc. with a snap and click and my day is not interupted at all…and neither is their’s, except by the smile that spreads across their faces when they see what we are up to. WAY TO GO on going out of your comfort zone and learning “something new”. You will be posting a blogspot feature, a few months from now, about how much you love your smartphone…JUST WAIT! 🙂

    • August 31, 2010 4:42 pm

      it keeps buzzing and I don’t have a call or text message..hope I’m not missing something important

  2. August 29, 2010 12:13 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement…I know the salesman made it look easy…but of course he was around 20 so I’m sure it was easy for him…

Leave a Reply

