Skip to content

Goodwill

September 10, 2010

I grew up at salvation army and goodwill.

You may think that I am joking but I’m not. I don’t remember my mother ever taking me to the park,not once. We went to Salvation Army. My brother and I would have races in the basement in wheelchairs that looked  just like this one.

Hours were spent playing hide and seek in the racks of clothes. One of my earliest memories is sitting in the middle of a table with women all around hunting for bargins..I can’t imagine that I was more than 2 or 3.

My mother didn’t work most of my growing up but if we needed her during the day we knew to call Goodwill. That’s true….once when I was a teenager my dad was taken to the hospital. With no cell phones I pulled out the yellow pages and called Goodwill…Is Bonnie there I asked..sure enough she was.

When my mom’s Goodwill was closing years later I sat in the dressing room and cried. Mom now had Alzheimer’s and this place is where we had so many happy memories together that would never be captured again….I had to call my daughter that day  at work  for her to talk me out of the store…

Years later when my daughter was laid off I found her at the new Goodwill trying to find comfort in the family cornerstone……

So with all that said imagine my surprise when I read this article at http://blogs.tennessean.com/cheap/2010/09/a-couple-of-things-goodwill-shoppers-should-know/… .I had no idea!!!

Can anyone tell me if this is available in all states? How do I get a smart discount card!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 12:45 pm

    Thank you for sharing these stories. We’re happy to hear that Goodwill made such an impact in your life. All of those purchases over the years also helped us provide important job training, career placement and other community services to the people who need them the most — and we really appreciate your support.

    Because of the way Goodwill is organized — a network of 165 independent Goodwill member organizations across the US and Canada — promotions like this vary from area to area. For now, I believe that this is only available in the Nashville, Tenn., area, though you can check with your local Goodwill headquarters to see if they are considering something similar. (You can find their contact information at http://locator.goodwill.org).

    You have my e-mail address now, so please let me know if you have any other questions, or reach out to us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/goodwillintl.

    Thanks, again, for your support over the years!

Leave a Reply

