Skip to content

The Pumpkin

September 29, 2010

 

In most things in life I find myself being pretty much a traditionalist. But not when it comes to pumpkins.

Many years ago we waited to long to get our Halloween pumpkin and when we finally did, there was not one to be found ….anywhere…

Mr Amazing came up with a great idea…we bought a watermelon and cut it out instead…I have to tell you…a cut out watermelon looks really scary..

I wanted to share with you our Halloween pumpkin from last year. My daughter found one like this in a magazine and we decided to go with it. I think it was my favorite of all time.

This pumpkin is just painted..no carving…this means for us in Florida..no bugs….

It was wonderful to have our pumpkin actually last more than 48 hours.

I’m not sure what our pumpkin will look like this year….any ideas?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 3:54 am

    I love this! It makes me think of my Mom, passed away 2 years ago now at 63. Oh how she loved being a Grandma! And she was so good at it! Unfortunately, she passed away 2 weeks and 1 day before my second child- my first Son was born. I will be back to read more for sure. P.S. My Mom was a big Martha fan too! lol!

    Have a great weekend! Melissa

  2. October 1, 2010 1:46 am

    I thought the watermelon great! I live in the Seattle area ya know where it rains all the time, we don’t carve our pumpkins till the last minute due to all the rain. Have a great weekend oh and by the way I saw you on twitter I am @nowondermom I will say a little prayer for you… No rain this weekend! Amen!

Leave a Reply

