Skip to content

I Hate Secrets

December 7, 2010

My daughter was five weeks pregnant when she told us that we where about to become grandparents for the first time. ….we were sooooo excited! Then she added…but you can’t tell anyone.

What?!

That’s not fair I whined…I love when I can use their own tactics right back at them..but she was strong and wouldn’t bend..she’s going to make such a good mom.

So I spent the next two weeks avoiding talking to anyone I might want to tell…my best friend..the neighbor..the check out lady out the store..how could she do this to me?

During this time alone I had a lot of time to think about my new grand baby…

I understood why people like to wait to tell…I really do…I know things happen…

Soon I found myself wanting to defend my grandbaby…What did she..or he ..have to prove before we would claim him? Do we wait until after the first trimester…when we are more sure that he is strong enough to survive?

Strong enough to survive? Survive what? Pregnancy? child-birth? kindergarten? grad school?

I decided right then and there that this was my grandbaby…I would love it and pray for it today..not wait until  when it was bigger…

I respected my daughter and son in laws decision and did  not tell anyone until I was told I could…but I want that baby to know that I loved it from the very beginning of time…and I will always love him/her no matter what…

Since the day we heard about you we have not stopped praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding. Col 3:9

How long did you expect your mother to keep your secret?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 4:56 pm

    Thank you! I agree… I understand why people wait and I understand that we all want perfect, healthy, strong children.

    My pet peeve is the saying, “As long as it’s healthy…” Really? You won’t love the child if it has a problem? As a mom of two kids with big time developmental and cognitive delays, I know that even when we don’t get what we signed up for, we are going to love those children fiercely. All moms love their children fiercely – “healthy” or not.

    And what a beautiful grandbaby you will have 🙂 I work with your daughter’s in-laws so I know I’ll get to see pictures!!

Leave a Reply

