Skip to content

32 Years of Amazing

December 16, 2010

Thirty-two years ago today, I married Mr. Amazing. I remember standing up at the front of the church looking at him and praying…Please God, let us grow old together.

At that moment it didn’t matter to me how many kids we had, what size house we would live in or what our stock portfolio would look like. Just being by his side thru this life was enough.

Our life story has some very happy chapters and there are some other chapters that I wish I could rip out of the book. But I guess it makes for an interesting read. They tell me that it is those chapters that build character…all I know is as bad as those chapters are…I have gotten thru them because I am married to an amazing man.

So for all of you still looking for your Mr. Amazing, here is my advice for you…

1. Marry a man who turns your head….I remember the first time I saw Mr. Amazing…He was just 13 years old and I couldn’t keep my eyes off of him…and still can’t.

2.  Marry a man with a servants heart. The first time I saw him he was holding a door open for a girl….When a thirteen year old boy does this you know right then he is amazing…

3. Marry a man who you like his family. Even if you think you are never going to see those people..the truth is..the older he gets the more like his family he will become. I never thought my husband was anything like his father. Now every day I see his dad in one way of another….which is a good thing..I loved his dad.

4. Marry a man who likes your family. My father went thru a time with his Alzheimer’s that he wouldn’t go to bed for anyone other than Mr. Amazing. Every night he would go to the assisted living facility and convince my dad to get his pajamas on and then tuck him. Who knew….

5. Marry a man who makes you laugh…you’re going to need it.

6. Marry a man that you call Mr. Amazing….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 4:58 am

    Congratulations! Just think, in 16 more months, you will have been married a third of a century!

  2. Debi permalink
    January 1, 2011 3:05 pm

    I loved this!!! Reminded me so much of Ed & I, only he let me go and tuck my mom in each night while I snuggled with her at the nursing home, singing to her each night to calm her. I had Niki read this….what great advice!!

Leave a Reply

