Skip to content

The Christmas stockings….

December 17, 2010

One of my favorite Christmas decorations in the Christmas stocking…

Mind you, I have lots of favorites because Christmas is my favorite holiday. But it is those stockings that bring me a smile. I bought the stockings back when we adopted our baby. My eldest daughter lovingly stitched everyone’s names on them making them even more special.

Now years later, Christmas doesn’t look like it once did at our house. Two of my four daughters are now married….do I still hang their stockings? Quite frankly I wasn’t sure what to do so last year I avoided the stocking issue altogether. 

I hide them in the closet until Christmas eve. No one seemed to notice…except me.

Those stockings are full of Christmas memories….so much joy and laughter have been shared around those stockings.

 I can’t abandon them. I can’t pretend that they don’t exist.

I have hung the stockings this year. All of them…

I have decided that in the future, when my grandbabies come to my house at Christmas time, they will find a little gift just for them in their mother’s stocking.

Now when I look at those stockings I no longer just hear the laughter of Christmas past but I also hear the joy of many years to come.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 1:05 pm

    You asked what to do with your grown daughter’s stocking? Fill it, of course! And buy a stocking for the husbands 😉

    After 13 Christmases together, my husband still doesn’t understand the importance of the stocking! He is a thoughtful gift-giver, but is clueless about my family’s stockings!! My mom bought a stocking for my brother’s wife and one for my husband. We don’t have Christmas morning with them, but she still has them.

    But I like your idea of the special gift in their mom’s stocking – I guess it’s second best!!

  2. Nancy Reese permalink
    December 17, 2010 4:15 pm

    I bought Brileigh Kate a stocking this year and filled it to the brim. Since she is so little I figured that pulling things out of the stocking would be just as fun as unwrapping! I intend to leave this stocking here and every year she will know that Grandma and Grandpa have a special stocking waiting at their house for her when she gets there!! Such fun.

Leave a Reply

