Skip to content

An Abusive Relationship

January 5, 2011

I heard someone say the other day that they realized that they had a verbally abusive relationship with their scale. It wasn’t until that moment that I realized  I had a problem…. but mine goes even farther than verbal.

It happens almost every day…but always in private.

It starts with a few choice words as it doesn’t show me the numbers I want to see. My abuse use to end there . Now I am somehow convinced that it is lying to me and I want to prove that I am right.

I get off the scale and quickly get back on….in hopes that I might trick it into thinking I am someone else. When that doesn’t work I slowly rock backwards…digging my heels harder and harder into the scale thinking that just maybe if I evoke enough pain it will finally give me the number I so badly want to see.

This routine continues as I proceed to jump up and down on the scale…then in anger I leave the room.

I know I need to be nicer to my scale. It has worked hard all these years and I am going to try to be more understanding.

If that doesn’t work the sucker is headed for the dumpster…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lloyd permalink
    January 5, 2011 2:20 pm

    Have you tried “innocently” pulling up on the towel bar?
    Just to assist in your balance of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

