Skip to content

Looking back before I look forward

January 19, 2011

Twenty four years ago this house was just a dream of ours on a piece of paper. We were in our twenties with two young children and number three on her way. I started drawing and planning and drawing some more.

Now all these years later I find myself sharpening my pencil once again trying to design a home for us. I did a good job last time. We have had many happy moments in this home and there isn’t much I would do different if I had to do it all over again.

 One thing that I have regretted over the years is that I made a laundry room that you walk thru to get to the garage. With four kids that has often meant you have had to step on piles of clothes to get to the car. So even though we are now down to just one kid at home, I know my laundry room will be a separate room.

Space was where we decided last time we wanted to spend our money. That meant we moved into our home without a garage door opener, garbage disposal, or even kitchen cabinet doors. Those things came later but adding 2 feet to a room would have been much harder.

This time we don’t need the space as much as we want maintenance free.  I am trying to remember that as I draw. Comfy …cozy…cute….these are words that I try to remember as I  draw the plans for the new house.

If you are building a house and you have young children and you are on a tight budget here are some more things we did.

We didn’t pay for a clean up crew…Pregnant me…and our 4 and 6 year old daughters were it…not a great idea..

Aren’t they the cutest clean up crew….what were we thinking????

Cut to the bare bones…down grade carpet…kids will just ruin it anyway..up grade when they are older.

Have the house wired for fans and add them one at a time….

I realized early on that just as little things where adding up …I could take little things off to bring down the bill.

I was able to bring the  quote down by a third by seeing what we could do ourselves or by what we could go without. Look at it as a challenge…a game that you can win at and remember…thirty years is a long time to pay on a dining room light.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lloyd permalink
    January 19, 2011 1:57 pm

    Were those front steps OSHA approved?
    Apparently the handrail was still on order.
    How did you manage not to kill your husband?
    He must be the cheapest man on earth!

    • January 19, 2011 2:34 pm

      Cheap?????? Do you want me to tell about the time he had me help him empty the septic tank???? with a shovel!!!!!

Leave a Reply

