Skip to content

So Glad I Didn’t Die

January 24, 2011

This may seem like a strange thing to say but…I am so happy I didn’t die yesterday.

Let me try to explain.  Before I head to the store each week, I try to take inventory of my fridge. I toss the spoiled meat I never got around to cooking. I always have such great plans when I’m in the store.

I also wipe up the Kool-Aid spill that everyone is pretending they haven’t noticed all week.

Today was a cold day by Florida standards when I woke up. We don’t get many sweater days but this morning was definitely one of those days. At least until about 1:00pm.  Before I changed clothes,  I decided it was a great day to clean my fridge. Cleaning the fridge this time of the year can give me a real shiver…so lets just say…it has been awhile  since I last gave it a thorough cleaning.

I asked my husband to get my vinegar off of the top shelf of the pantry for me. Nothing cleans better than vinegar and water. That’s when my dear husband informed me that the vinegar bottle was stuck to the top shelf.

How was I supposed to know that something had spilled up there and was now turning into concrete? I’m short.

So here we were facing today’s projects…he cleaned the pantry while I was cleaning the fridge. Lucky for us our teen was nearby to read all those ever-shrinking expiration dates.

Remember that top shelf that I can’t reach? This is what he found up there…

Yep…a brand new bottle…

Oops…check out the date.

So why am I glad I didn’t die yesterday? Because if someone else had found my mess after I was dead, all they would remember about me was my outdated jelly or the mold growing  in the veggie drawer.  I want to be remembered for what I have done in my life, not what I neglected to do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy McKellar permalink
    January 24, 2011 2:55 pm

    Yep, I have found a few of those myself…

  2. January 25, 2011 5:56 am

    This post is very funny! Stan asked what I was reading and I told him it was your blog. He wants me to tell you, he still knows all the words to “Cheer up Sleepy Jean”. He is signing it to me right now! 🙂

    • January 25, 2011 6:11 am

      You just brought a big smile to my face…and a song to my heart…Give Stan my love

      • January 25, 2011 4:43 pm

        sounds like my pantry!!! oh my. I did clean mine too….feels good.
        A couple of months ago I was complaining to a friend that my cookies are always flat…..she said make sure to use fresh baking soda! Now I am one cookie bakin mama!

Leave a Reply

