Skip to content

It’s My Birthday

February 9, 2011

Today is my birthday…wow…how did I get so old???

I find myself wondering just what IS a woman of my age supposed to look like these days?

I remember when I turned 30 and my mother told me that I was now too old to have long hair. I laughed at her but I never could bring myself to grow my hair out again after that.

I wonder what other silly rules that I have  secretly hidden in my heart. I know that my mother used to frown on women of a certain age wearing  jeans and even though that doesn’t bother me…well.. as long as they are the right jeans of course…

Wow I am my mother….

This is my best friend and the other Modern Grandma….I tell her she is too old to wear Uggs…. but she just laughs at me…

Why can’t I just loosen up and enjoy life? Go a little extreme for a change…and I mean something a little more out there than painting my toe nails a color…yes folks that is really a hurdle for me.

I remember a woman who I once met….she was well in her eighties and yet so full of life. She told me that you are what ever age you feel before you look in the mirror that day and for this reason, she no longer owned any mirrors.

Has my friend already embraced this attitude about life and I am the only one that cares about the number?

Today for my birthday I’m going to head to the mall … after I throw away all the mirrors in the house… who knows…I may buy myself some Uggs…not likely…but maybe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lloyd permalink
    February 9, 2011 3:57 pm

    Ug!

  2. Nancy permalink
    February 9, 2011 10:21 pm

    So funny. I have the same Uggs Janet and my kids told me I was too old to wear them. Well I don’t care! We are heading for Utah in three weeks and I am going to need them . So there!!

  3. February 10, 2011 3:35 am

    My mom told me the same thing about long hair. It is funny how those things stick with us. Stan said to say Happy Birthday for him; he is still in Mexico.

    I hope you had a great day Birthday Girl!
    Linda

  4. Debi permalink
    February 10, 2011 2:40 pm

    I remember cutting my hair short when I hit 40 and Debby Jones told me everyone cuts their hair at 40 and it’s just another sign of getting old so she wasn’t doing it. Guess I was 10 yrs behind 🙂
    Skip the Uggs, Diane, unless you’re heading for the North and actually need them.

Leave a Reply

